Climate Smart Communities

The Climate Smart Communities (CSC) program began in 2009 as an interagency initiative of New York State. The program is jointly sponsored by the following New York State agencies: Department of Environmental Conservation (DEC); Energy Research and Development Authority (NYSERDA); Department of Public Service; Department of State; Department of Transportation; Department of Health and the Power Authority (NYPA). DEC acts as the main administrator of the program. The Village of Irvington took the CSC Pledge on June 4, 2012. 

Under this program, the Village of Irvington and other CSC communities across NY state have committed to transitioning to zero carbon emissions, investing in community resilience, restoring ecosystems, building a more just, healthy, and livable future, and doing our part within our region and beyond to contribute to climate mitigation and adaptation.

The New York State CSC Website contains a large amount of information, including a complete list of New York State's CSCs and their current certification status. 

CSC Task Force

On November 18, 2019, the Village established a CSC Task Force to help document CSC-recommended actions the Village has taken showing mitigation of or adaptation to climate change. The CSC Task Force planned a broad range of new initiatives to ensure a climate-resilient environment for our Village in the future.

CSC Bronze Certification

From its formation in late 2019 until January 2021, the CSC Task Force documented 17 separate actions in 6 different categories for a total of 133 points in the CSC Certification program. After a submission was made in January 2021, the Village of Irvington was approved for Bronze-level certification. The full report of actions taken and point earned is posted to the NYS CSC web site.

CSC Silver Certification

The CSC Task Force is currently exploring the steps to obtain Silver Certification under the CSC program. As their work progresses, updates will be posted here. There are currently only 8 silver-certified municipalities in New York State.