Officer of the Year

Officer of the Year

The annual Officer of The Year Award is given by the local Lion's Club of the quad village area. The Villages represented are  Irvington, Dobbs Ferry, Ardsley, and Tarrytown. Each year an officer is selected for their service to their community and fellow citizens. We are proud of all our officers and join the Lions Club in recognizing the efforts and accomplishments of these fine officers.

2014 Officer of the Year

Sgt. Andrew Bessinger


Sgt. Bessinger has been a member of the Irvington Police Department since 1991. He was raised in Yonkers, and graduated Iona Preparatory School in 1985.  Sgt. Bessinger, known to us as Andy, attended Fordham University from 1985-1987, and graduated from Iona College in 1989 with a bachelor’s of Business Administration and a minor degree in Psychology.

His law enforcement career started at the Westchester County Police Academy. Upon graduation, he was assigned to the department’s patrol division. During his time in patrol, he was consistently one of the most active officers in the department. In 1993, he was awarded the New York State Federation of Police Meritorious Duty and the Irvington Police Department’s Exceptional Service Award. In 1996, Andy received an Irvington Police Department Citation for his assistance with TWA Flight 800. In 2007, he was promoted to patrol sergeant, where he currently supervises a patrol squad.

Sgt. Bessinger has been married to his wife Joy for 15 years, and is the proud parent of Nicole 12 and Joseph 10.  Andy is an asset to this department and to the community of Irvington.

Past Honorees

Police Officer Edmund Vize - 2013

Sergeant John Pelliccio - 2012

Detective Luigi Osso - 2011

Police Officer Mia Norton - 2010

Police Officer Jim Egloff - 2009

Lieutenant Michael Morano - 2008

Sergeant Raube McDaniels - 2007

Police Officer Michael Toolan - 2006

Police Officer Steven Delli Colli - 2005

Police Officer Kevin Johnson - 2004

Police Officer Michael Buck - 2003

Sergeant Michael Cerone - 2002

Police Officer Michael Foley - 2001

Police Officer William DePonto - 2000

Police Officer Peter Carelli - 1999

Sergeant  Louis Grieco - 1998